What countries belong to the European Economic Area (EEA)?

Modified on Wed, 20 Mar at 3:16 PM

To the European Economic Area (EEA) belong all EU-countries plus Liechtenstein, Norway and Iceland.


List EEA-countries

  • Belgium;
  • Bulgary;
  • Cyprus;
  • Denmark;
  • Germany;
  • Estonia;
  • Finland;
  • France;
  • Greece;
  • Hungary;
  • Ireland;
  • Iceland;
  • Italy;
  • Croatia;
  • Latvia;
  • Liechtenstein;
  • Lithuania;
  • Luxembourg;
  • Malta; 
  • Netherlands; 
  • Norway;
  • Austria;
  • Poland;
  • Portugal;
  • Romania;
  • Slovenia;
  • Slovakia;
  • Spain; 
  • Czech Republic;
  • Sweden.


European Free Trade Association  (EFTA)

De EEA has been created after an agreement between the European Union and the European Free Trade Association (without Switzerland). The goal of the EFTA is to encourage free trade between member states. To the EFTA belong Liechtenstein, Norway, Iceland and Switzerland.

Was this article helpful?

That’s Great!

Thank you for your feedback

Sorry! We couldn't be helpful

Thank you for your feedback

Let us know how can we improve this article!

Select at least one of the reasons
CAPTCHA verification is required.

Feedback sent

We appreciate your effort and will try to fix the article